Visual Arts Curriculum

The LKKB Visual Arts Curriculum stresses the students’ aesthetic sensitivity development in order for them to experience, understand, put visual arts concepts and elements in practice and provide reasonable criticisms to respond to visual arts in context and art phenomena. Hence, the curriculum composes of three key areas: Knowledge of Art, Creation of Art and Art & Life

The three key learning areas should be integrated into visual arts activities. However, they do not necessarily share an equal proportion. Nevertheless, any of the key learning areas can be implemented and focused in a specific learning activity. It is essential that it serves as part of a balanced and comprehensive learning plan in order to achieve the overall aims of visual arts.

Knowledge of Art

Students are equipped with different visual terms and theories. They then 

understand the relationship between the development and culture of visual arts. They also possess the ability of art observation, description and criticism and thus provide appropriate reasoning to the sensory appeal and critical appreciation of artwork and art phenomena. The content of the knowledge of art comprises form, skill, expression and evaluation.

Creation of Art

The content of art creation activities involves: sketches, drawings, printing, designing, sculptures and creative media.

Art & Life

There are generally two types of art appreciation: Arts in context and artwork/ masterpiece.

Visual Arts Elements and Principles

Visual Arts Elements involves: Lines, shapes, forms and structures, colours, textures and dimensions.

Visual Arts Principles involves: Balance, integration, contrast, repetition, emphasis and momentum.

Elements and Principles mentioned above are taught in different levels throughout the 6-year primary arts education.